

Government of Malawi

PRESS RELEASE

MALAWI CABINET: JULY 8TH, 2020

In exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 94(1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi, His Excellency the President, Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, has made ministerial appointments with effect from 8th July, 2020. The full Cabinet is as follows:

- 1. His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, President of the Republic of Malawi, Commander-In-Chief of the Malawi Defence Force and Minister of Defence.
- 2. Right Honourable Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima, Vice President of the Republic of Malawi and Minister Responsible for Economic Planning and Development and Public Sector Reforms.
- 3. Honourable Lobin C. Lowe, M.P., Minister of Agriculture.
- 4. Honourable Felix Mlusu, Minister of Finance.
- 5. Honourable Mohammed Sidik Mia, Minister of Transport and Public Works.
- 6. Honourable Dr. Michael Bizwick Usi, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Wildlife.

- 7. Honourable Eisenhower Nduwa Mkaka , M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs.
- 8. Honourable Patricia Annie Kaliati, Minister of Community Development and Social Welfare.
- 9. Honourable Richard Chimwendo Banda, M.P., Minister of Homeland Security.
- 10. Honourable Lingson Kambewa Waidon Belekanyama, M.P., Minister of Local Government.
- 11. Honourable Titus Mvalo, Minister of Justice.
- 12. Honourable Agnes Nyalonje, Minister of Education.
- 13. Honourable Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, M.P., Minister of Health.
- 14. Honourable Kenny Edward Kandodo, M.P., Minister of Labour.
- 15. Honourable Newton Kambala, Minister of Energy.
- 16. Honourable Kezzie Kasambala Msukwa, M.P., Minister of Lands.
- 17. Honourable Sosten Alfred Gwengwe, M.P., Minister of Trade.
- 18. Honourable Timothy Pagonachi Mtambo, Minister of Civic Education and National Unity.
- 19. Honourable Nancy Tembo, M.P., Minister of Forestry and Natural Resources.

- 20. Honourable Ulemu Msungama, M.P., Minister of Youth and Sports.
- 21. Honourable Roy Akajuwe Kachale-Banda, Minister of Industry.
- 22. Honourable Rashid Abdul Gaffar, Minister of Mining.
- 23. Honourable Gospel Kazako, Minister of Information.

His Excellency the President has further appointed the following Deputy Ministers:

- 1. Honourable Jean Muonaowauza Sendeza, M.P., Deputy Minister of Defence.
- 2. Honourable Agnes Nkusa Nkhoma, M.P., Deputy Minister of Agriculture.
- 3. Honourable Nancy Chaola Mdooko, M.P., Deputy Minister of Transport and Public Works.
- 4. Honourable Chrissie Kamanga Kalamula Kanyasho, M.P., Deputy Minister of Health.
- 5. Honourable Madalitso Wirima Kambauwa, M.P., Deputy Minister of Education.
- 6. Honourable Halima Alima Daud, M.P., Deputy Minister of Local Government.
- 7. Honourable Vera Kamtukule, Deputy Minister of Labour.
- 8. Honourable Abida Sidik Mia, M.P., Deputy Minister of Lands.

His Excellency the President has also appointed:

- 1. Dr. Wilson T. Banda, Governor of the Reserve Bank of Malawi.
- 2. Mr. John Bizwick, Commissioner General, Malawi Revenue Authority.
- 3. Mr. Henry Ngutwa, Deputy Commissioner General (Revenue), Malawi Revenue Authority.
- 4. Mrs. Agnes Katsonga Phiri, Deputy Commissioner General (Administration), Malawi Revenue Authority.
- 5. Mr. Dokani Ngwira, Director General, National Intelligence Services.
- 6. Dr. George Kainja, Inspector General, Malawi Police Service.
- 7. Mr. Demuster Chigwenembe, Deputy Inspector General (Operations), Malawi Police Service.

Zanga-Zanga D. Chikhosi CHIEF SECRETARY TO THE GOVERNMENT 8th July, 2020